Kosaka, Akita: Japanese dance pictures and video

A few of years ago I borrowed a flatbed scanner and ‘put in the time’ to scan a few boxes of photos from Japan and China– in order to get through the task, I didn’t spend that much time getting lost in the memories (I got into quite a groove, and did them in 100-picture groups).   Having said that, diving back in to Japanese has inevitably spurred me to take a careful stroll down memory lane.  In digging through files, I also found a video that was taken at the Korakukan in Kosaka, Akita, somewhere around the year 2000.

As you’ll see shortly, I’m not a very elegant dancer:)  That said, I really have to thank the dance group and the teacher that spent so much of their time to welcome me and teach me all of the moves for dances like this one (Kurodabushi).

 

Leave a Reply

