Chinese Idiom: The iron tree blooms (铁树开花)

I’ve been trying to rescue this Jade plant after someone else gave up on it; it probably suffered from some root rot, and looked like it was a goner.   Just when I was about to throw in the towel, an unlikely sprout came out of the end of a branch, so I repotted it and pruned back most of the dead branches.   There was actually a pair of sprouts, but I clipped the other one off to see if I could start afresh in a different pot with some clippings from another plant. We’ll see how it works out!

Anyway, Cornelius posted another keeper of an idiom-image yesterday and the picture of the iron tree blooming made me think of my fledgling jade plant…. I hope it completes the comeback!

IMG_0876

 

Thanks to Lydia Lin for the suggestion. 铁树开花 [鐵樹開花] tiě shù kāi huā tie3 shu4 kai1 hua1 the iron tree blooms a highly improbable or extremely rare occurrence ≅ “once in a blue moon” ⇒ S…

Source: Chinese Idiom: The iron tree blooms (铁树开花)

 

Leave a Reply

