Passed DELF B2— “Merci” to my sponsors!

Well, the results are in and I’ve officially passed the DELF B2. For an idea of what that means for my French, here is what CIEP (Centre international d’études pédagogiques) has to say about this level:

A B2 user has a degree of independence that allows him/her to construct arguments to defend his/her opinion, explain his/her viewpoint and negotiate. At this level, the candidate has a degree of fluency and spontaneity in regular interactions and is capable of correcting his/her own mistakes.

Having said that, most of my initial reactions from the test were right on the mark; although I passed the level, my score wasn’t anything worth bragging about. From this point, I plan to regroup and challenge B2 again at some point in the future.

The happiest news is that my Linguathon idea raised about $200. Thanks again to all of my sponsors, your donation is going to a good cause! I wrote a simple “Post Exam Report” which can be found here.

As you know, language learning is something that I’m quite passionate about. If someone in your family or circle of friends aspires to some degree of competency in another language, please encourage them to keep at it. Contrary to popular belief, Albertans have a wealth of language learning opportunities and resources right here at home– there’s simply no need to move across the world for the sole purpose of welcoming another language into your life!

7 thoughts on “Passed DELF B2— “Merci” to my sponsors!

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on DELF B2 « Wordsummit

  2. hi wordsummit

    i stumbled on your blog while looking for info on DELF. I wanted to ask how long you think it’d take one to study for, sit and pass A2 or B1 from the scratch. i think i am good at languages-have studied german and italian (didn’t have any problem there) and i’m currently wrestling with japanese(different kettle of fish that). my french is non existent and i want to take either the A2 or B1 on the next test date (march the 8th) at alliance francais here in nairobi. i’m thinking i could try put in atleast 5hrs/day. do you think this is a realistic target for A2 if not B1? i’d really appreciate your thoughts. please let me know

  3. Hi there– thanks for the comment. I didn’t really take DELF ‘from scratch’ though: in my case, I took French a long time ago (in high school) and used it sporadically for work over the years– it was always there, but never really had a chance to improve much. I started with A2 because I wasn’t familiar with the DELF system. Ultimately, whichever way you decide is up to you, but my advice is always to ask you how well you would respond to failing the higher level, vs. doing extremely well on the lower level…. do you get what I mean? If you are new to French, and study for the A1/A2 and do EXTREMELY well, you may have more momentum going into B2; however, if you start with B2 and don’t do well, some people go into a tailspin of never wanting to ‘retreat’ to A2, and end up challenging B2 3 or 4 times……… let me know how it goes for you!

  4. Hi Wordsummit,
    Thanks for your advice. I’ve been thinking about it since I posted on here. Actually I wasn’t thinking of taking the B2 from the scratch ( I think that’d be overly presumptuous).My dilemma was whether to take the B1 or A2. I’ve decided I’ll go for the A2 in March and if I do well try the B1 in July. It is a bit worrying to hear you’d studied French in high school and used it at work before you took the A2. I think that confirms to me that A2 is what I should go for although A1 would have been the ideal exam for me. I’ll sure let you know how it goes. Cheers

  5. Hello!
    I would like to know what DelfB2 actually allows me to do, in professional terms. I’m about to do it, but there’s this doubt that I have concerning the real importance of DelfB2, and the possibilities I have in the professional field ( such as working with translations, receiving tourists etc ) if I’m going for the B2. I’m not sure if I’m able to take the C1 instead, and that’s why the B2 seems to me the best possibility for the moment. So the big question is: Can I actually use the B2 for working ?

    I appreciate your attention!

    • These tests are all what you make of them.

      If you want to pass C1 and you feel like you’re not ready yet, then *your* purpose for taking the B2 is to use it as a diagnostic tool for focussing your efforts after you’re done.

      To turn the question around, I would say that if you’re serious about using French professionally in the future, B2 will just be a stepping stone.

      Take B2– if you can pass it, great….you can see what your lowest area was and then work hard on that area as you prepare for C1.

      In terms of an official answer–B2 is the benchmark for many employment contracts (a kind of bare minimum), as well as an entry benchmark for French universities.

      Good luck—work hard/smart and have fun!

Leave a Reply

